Always Writing

24 Jan

I love this quote: “If I fall asleep with a pen in my hand, don’t remove it. I might be writing.” (Danzae Pace)

Writers are always writing. They are writing when they are sleepy; they are writing when they are in the pick-up line after school; they are writing when they are on vacation; they are writing when they are on their lunch break; they are writing when they are in a church service; they are writing when they are talking to a friend; they are writing when they are taking a shower.

I don’t mean that you, as a writer, are always literally writing with a pen in your hand or a computer next to you. But I do mean that you are always in a state of writing. You are always open to whatever is happening around you, and how that might evolve into words on a page.

I will make a confession here and say that some of my best writing has been done while in the bathtub! I’m a big fan of long, hot, bubble baths and I have completed many articles in my head, developed character ideas, and written many a poem while lounging in the tub.

I have also come up with some of the best ideas ever while driving down the interstate. Thank goodness I had a notebook in my car so that I could write them down (as soon as I stopped driving, of course!).

And I can’t even count on my hands the number of times I have been struck by an idea while in the midst of a conversation. As I hear others talk about their lives (or hear a funny or emotional comment), I seem to immediately process that with the thought that it could evolve somewhere into my writing.

If you are a writer, you want to always be aware of things around you. Notice what other people are saying, notice what that billboard says, and notice the feelings that you have as you experience events and emotions. I truly believe that writers (and other artists, as well) are much more aware of their surroundings than “normal” people are. (And that you can probably spot the writer in the crowd at the coffee shop; they are the ones with their heads leaned slightly into the conversations around them.)

As you go about your day today, keep your eyes and ears and minds open to the world and its people around you. What in your daily meanderings speak to you? What might find its place in your writing?

(And on a practical note: Go out and buy a notebook that you can keep in your purse, your car, by your bedside, anywhere that inspiration might strike you. You want to be able to keep track of all the great ideas coming your way!)

 

6 Responses to “Always Writing”

  1. rhemajoy January 24, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Cheryl, I actually keep a voice recorder in my purse. That way, when I get an idea while driving or during the course of the day, I just record my thoughts and when I am able I go home and write them down.

  2. dee williams, aka willie fisher January 25, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    If I wanted to write while in the bubblebath, I would need to purchase one of those underwater writing boards that divers use. I know me, and I would drop it for sure right into the bubbles. LOL

    • cherylwray January 25, 2012 at 4:08 am #

      LOL. I try not to actually write in the tub (although I DO read in the tub), but to just let my mind wander and brainstorm.

  3. Gladys January 25, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    Thank you for your very practical suggestions and the motivation that makes me want to go write!

    • cherylwray January 25, 2012 at 4:08 am #

      Thank you for visiting, Gladys!

Leave a Reply

