Finding Time to Write

5 Mar

Do you have a busy life? Or, are you one of the lucky few who has plenty of time in the day to do everything you want and need to do?

Wait. Did I just hear a little chuckle come out of you? I think I did, since I’m chuckling myself at that second question.

I don’t think anyone could honestly answer “Yes” to that question. Every person, it seems, has an extremely busy lifestyle these days.

In the midst of all the busy-ness…of family, work, school, church, volunteering, friends, free time…when and how can you possibly find time to write?

Although it might seem like a difficult (sometimes impossible) challenge to find time amidst your day to devote to writing, it is extremely important to make writing a priority in your life. To be a writer you have to write..it’s that simple.

I have found that there are some easy tactics that can make finding the time to write more manageable. It just means that I’ve got to make writing a part of my life like anything else, and that I have to believe that it’s important.

Some of my most “tried and true” time-finding techniques include:

* Designate a specific time everyday to write. (For example: I will write everyday from 10 to 11 pm.)

* Don’t force yourself to write when you aren’t comfortable. (I am not a morning person, so I’m not going to get up early to write.)

* Give yourself a goal. (Write so many words, write for a specific amount of time, finish a specific task, etc.)

* Give yourself a reward. (A cup of coffee or candy bar; a viewing of a tv show; etc. when you finish.)

To help come up with your own plan for writing amidst your busy schedule, try out these exercises:

1. Write out every hour of your typical day (from 12 am to 12 pm), then determine what you are actually doing during every hour. This will help you see where and how you spend your time.

2. Look at what you just wrote down and ask yourself: Where can I eliminate something and instead add writing time to my schedule?

3. Make at least five goals for finding time to write. Write each of them down and then post your list somewhere that you can see it regularly and be accountable for it.

4. Write a paragraph on why writing is important to you. (In seeing writing’s importance to your life, you can then put value on the time you need to write.)

2 Responses to “Finding Time to Write”

  1. rhemajoy March 6, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Cheryl,

    You have no idea how helpful this page is! I refer to it often and apply the things I learn here! Thank you again!

  2. cherylwray March 6, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying it, Katrina!

Leave a Reply

