A 40-day writing journey (Day 1)

10 Feb

lent2

(The plan: It’s the Lenten season. It’s the most spiritually-challenging and soul-inspiring time of the year for me, and I often choose not to GIVE UP something but rather TAKE UP something. This year, I’m going to attempt to write every. single. day during the 40 days of Lent. Writing is, for me, a spiritual exercise; I often learn new things about myself and about my soul and about my journey when I write. It’s as if my brain is turning and processing and then it goes, “Aha, Cheryl. There’s something you needed to learn or understand a little bit better. You just put the exact thing down on that paper in front of you that you needed to hear.” So, I’m going to write and post something here every day. It may be something soulful or spiritual, but it may also be a poem, or a fictional scene, or a retelling of something that happened in the day, or who knows what. I know that God uses writing as a tool to help me see, understand, process, learn. And I feel like it’s something I need to be more ritualistic about. Lent = writing. Let’s go.)

Fashion in me,
Mold in me,
Break inside of me and leave behind a heart of
Purity,
      refreshment,
             crispness.
(I want to be clean.)
Take away what’s off-kilter and messed-up and mean-spirited;
what’s unkind and unloving and unbecoming.
(I want to be new.)
O Maker,
         Friend,
              Brother (sister),
                  Counselor,
                       Captain,
                               Author,
                                         God.
Put that within me, and let it flow out of me
during this time, this moment, this season.
And let me emerge
different,
      set-apart,
              changed,
                         holy.
— Psalm 55:10, ‘Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me.” —

 

Leave a Reply

