Day 13: Why worry?

22 Feb

One of my favorite Bible verses comes from Matthew 6.

In it, I get this advice:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”
My life is a strange duality of worry and positivity. I try always to balance any worry I have with this notion that everything’s going to be all right.
So, I wrote this poem for today:

 

“Half-full”

Maybe rose-colored vision isn’t always that clear.
maybe I’m not very practical.
and, okay, maybe a little naïve.
Maybe my sunny side really does
hide a denial of unpleasant things
(thanks, dr. whoever, for that!)

but, after careful consideration,
I’m just gonna stick with my plan.

And live
with Contentment,
in Joy,
on Faith.

And drinking from a glass that’s half-full.

 

Leave a Reply

