Day 21: Voting Day

1 Mar

It’s Super Tuesday all across the South today, so I am heading to the polls to vote in another election.

This time around, I’m voting in the primaries and casting my choice for a presidential nominee.

It’s also the first time that my middle daughter, Delaney (who is 19), gets to vote in a presidential election.

I’m not always a fan of politics, but I’m a huge fan of elections so I’m pretty pumped about Delaney getting to make her voice heard. (And that she’s excited about it herself–and has put a lot of thought into her choice.)

All of that got me to thinking about my first elections.

Even though it wasn’t an “official” election, I do fondly remember the presidential election we had in my third grade class in Austin, Texas, way back in 1976.

My class cast ballots in the race between Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter.

The class went in favor of Ford, while I myself voted for Carter.

That seems pretty par for the course for how it’s gone ever since.

Time went by, and Carter and Reagan came and went.

In the meantime, I went to high school and saw Ronald Reagan (with my entire American History class) present a speech as he was getting ready for the 1984 election season.

(I also had the amazing experience–truly one of my life favorites–of meeting Jimmy Carter much later in life, when my three girls were all young. We went to his Sunday School class in rural Georgia.)

My first opportunity to vote came while I was in college. The year was 1988, and I was 20-years-old.

I voted for the first time for a president, and was a huge fan of Tennessee senator (and eventual vice president) Al Gore in the primaries. (Alas, Michael Dukakis became the Democratic nominee.)

I so remember being a college student in love with the process, surrounded by mostly people who favored someone else.

But that’s okay.

And that’s kind of the point.

As Americans, we can get behind whichever candidate we choose–whether those around us do so or not.

As Americans, we have that right (the amazing, peaceful right) to support and cheer for (or against) the candidate we support.

Whether that person was Ford back in my 1970s childhood or a Clinton in the 1990s and 2010s…what a thrill to get to do so freely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

