In the Wilderness

6 Apr

(These thoughts came from talking with someone who feels like she’s been in a “wilderness” lately. She’s been stuck in the wild, in situations out of her control, and have felt like no one was there to support her.

I know how she feels. I think we all do.

I also know that the wilderness is an image so powerful during the Lenten season to people of faith.

So, if I happened to put a hashtag on this poem…it would be #easteriscoming.)

 

“Wilderness”

Alone,
desolate,
empty.

In the middle of
nowhere,
everywhere,
all-too-familiar where.

The trees rustle,
a bird chirps,
the wind feels stale, cyclonic.

On my knees,
nose touching earth,
without a will to rise.

A newborn
(or one who has traveled endless years?)
with new legs
(or very old ones),
wobbly,
trying in vain to stand.

Voices,
doubts,
pain.

‘I’ll leave you here alone,’
the trees,the bird, the wind,
everything
says.

But, there…

A light shifts.
It shafts the branches,
and hits my face.

A breeze changes.
it freshens,
wafts in like flowers, cotton,
linen.

A hand,
invisible,
lifts, caresses, edifies,
pulls me up.

‘I’ll walk with you,
out of this place,’
the trees, the bird, the wind,
the light, the breeze,
He, She,
everything
says.

One Response to “In the Wilderness”

  1. Joanne Sloan April 6, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

    You are a poet, Cheryl. I already knew that, though.

Leave a Reply

